atlanta: the end, part 2.

After the internship, I had a good 5 days left in Atlanta.  I obviously used this time to seek out all the best restaurants I could get to with MARTA and my feet, and I must say I’m quite pleased with what I was able to discover.  On Friday, I walked a few blocks up to Colonial Square to go to Tamarind Seed, a Thai restaurant (my favorite!) that was recommended by a fellow intern.  I had the Gang-Phed, a red curry.  It. Was. Soooooooo good!  I’m talking the kind of good where I didn’t even care that I couldn’t recognize half of the vegetables in it–knowing what I’m eating is usually very important.  This being said, I still think I’d take both of the Thai places I’ve had in Cali (Star of Siam, Long Beach & Thai Dishes, Santa Monica) over this one.

On Saturday, my mom flew in for a short visit.  When she got in, we went to Mary Mac’s for dinner.  I found this place online when I was searching for the best sweet tea in Atlanta, and it was also recommended to me as “a place to take your mom”.  They do have the best sweet tea I’ve ever had, and lots of people were there with their moms.  It’s a nice place, with a bunch of separate dining rooms in different colors.  To the MP people:  It kind of reminded me of Carson’s in the way that it wound all around.  At Mary Mac’s, you write down your order and hand it to the waitress.  I found that interesting.  My mom and I both got the vegetable platters, which include meat choices, so I think it would be more accurately named “side dish platter”.  I got mine with broccoli souffle, Brunswick stew, tomato pie, and fried green tomatoes.  The first two were great, the last two not so much, but at least I can say I’ve tried some real southern food.  I should also mention that they bring out a basket of assorted rolls, which contain some really delicious sweet rolls.  I love food, so I hope you guys don’t mind me talking about it so much.

My mom scored us free World of Coke and Aquarium tickets for Sunday afternoon, which meant I couldn’t go to church unless I woke up in time to get to the 8 am service.  I think I got about 3 hours of sleep that night, so waking did not happen.  I don’t know what it was about my bed there, but I never slept well.  The World of Coke was fun, as I expected it would be since my friend Zach said it’s his second favourite place on Earth.  I spell that the British way because I distinctly remember that’s how he spelled it when he texted me.  They have really cool Coke bottles everywhere, and a ton of lapel pins–I collect those.  I tried every flavor they had in their world tasting room, which should be a surprise to no one.  The only thing I didn’t like was the weird musical they make you watch.

The GA aquarium was pretty cool too. I liked the otters and the penguins the best.  You guys aren’t getting any pictures because the Internet in this hotel is really slow, and I can only imagine the horror uploading photos would bring.

That night I decided to take my mom to Midtown Vortex, mostly because I had a quesadilla when I went and I wanted to try a burger.  They’re supposedly the best.  Once I read that they made a burger with peanut butter, bananas, and bacon, I knew there was no way I could order anything else.  That burger was the Elvis burger, and it was surprisingly good.

My mom left on Monday morning, and after dropping her off I decided to head up to Sandy Springs (Hines Ward lives there!) and hit up their Goodwill.  I got some pretty sweet stuff.  Go figure, though, that because I once again knew nothing more about its location relative to MARTA–which was on a corner–than it was within a quarter mile, that the right direction was the last one I chose.  I spent 45 minutes walking down and back the other 3 streets.  It was hot, and I was both irritated with myself and laughing at myself.  There’s a French bistro in the same lot as Goodwill, so I stopped in for a drink and also ended up having two of their mini desserts as a reward for all the walking I’d done.  I had tiramisu and a chocolatey something, and they both were heavenly.

Tuesday morning, I ventured out to find some beignets.  This involved riding the East/West rails, which are more sketch than the North/South so I was a little worried that I might have been heading into a bad part of town.  The station I got off at was actually a really nice area, and I chose the right direction to get to The Beignet Connection on the first try!  The beignets were so good, and the service was super friendly.  I’d definitely go back.

Since I had to check out Tuesday afternoon, this was the last of my adventures.  I took these important life lessons back with me:

  • I love being independent
  • I absolutely want to live in a city
  • I absolutely do not want it to be Atlanta
  • Subways systems are really easy to maneuver
  • Different cultures can be extremely hard to live with
  • Cars are a nice luxury
  • I probably trust too many things to be safe (in regards to walking miles of the city alone)
  • I love economics more than math, but it involves a lot of math, so that’s okay
  • Sometimes, you just have to deal with creepy people
  • Tap water != safe water all the time–definitely thought the whole U.S. was good…
  • Exploring pays off
Leave a Reply

