books.

Since I moved to Cincinnati, I find myself without the ability to watch TV or the money to go out and do a lot of things. Being as such, I’ve been spending a considerable amount of my free time reading; I’ll never be one to complain about that.

For the first time in my life, I have a library card. It’s pretty awesome not to have to wait for the books I want to own to be released in paperback before I get to read them. (I don’t care for hardbacks, and I hate mixed sets.) I was finally able to read the rest of the Hunger Games novels and the third installment of the Heist Society series, and I’ve reread a favorite from my own library as well.

DSCF0262

I had run across a list of interesting books to read in your twenties, but when I returned to the library I couldn’t find any of them. Instead, I found one of my favorite authors and grabbed a few of his works I haven’t been through yet. Hocus Pocus sounds especially interesting, and I’m always ready to read more about the strange concoction of a character that is Kilgore Trout.

DSCF0263

I was also able to pick-up and finally watch the Perks of Being a Wallflower DVD. It made me miss Pittsburgh at night and crave grilled stickies. And of course, I was watching it while tracking the Pens 6-1 loss to Boston, so the irony of “‘How about the Pens this year, dad?’ ‘It’s like they’re allergic to defense.'” was not lost on me.

What are you guys reading these days? Any recommendations for my next library trip? My literary taste ranges from novels meant for teenagers to satire to classics to books on economic theory. Anything goes.

Leave a comment